Home » 7726 » Creating an Infographic…the good, the bad and the final product.

Creating an Infographic…the good, the bad and the final product.

My Original Infographic
My Improved Infographic
infographic_part_1Infographic_part_2infographic_part_3-2
Infographic_part_4

Summarize the important information on your topic for other educators

My infographic is about why teachers should use infographics as a teaching strategy. It gives some powerful statistics on how visual humans are as learners. It also offers some effective ways for teachers to use infographics as both an instructional strategy and a vehicle for student assessment. A few free online tools for making inforgraphics are listed. Finally, my infographic challenges teachers to incorporate infographics into their instruction.

Make recommendations for other’s who want to create an infographic

If you want to create an infographic, I suggest you use one of the free tools listed on my infographic. I suggest that you start small, be willing to put in some time to learn how the tool works, and forgive yourself for not being perfect. My own infographic went through many revisions both before and after I published it.

Offer suggestions for how to use them in the classroom

As my infographic indicates there are multiple ways to incorporate infographics into the classroom. First, teachers can use infographics in their instruction to make information easy to understand, more memorable, and make the relationship between items and statistics easier to fathom. A teacher can also ask students to create infographics for many purposes including timelines, comparing and contrasting items, book reviews and more.

Suggest resources for assessing them

If you are looking for ways to assess infographics, this website offers some good tips on how to check your own work before publishing it.  Also, if you are a teacher needing to grade your students’ infographics, this sample rubric is a good place to start.

Consider the ideas and suggestions you received and at the end, explain how your work improved
through this collaborative design process

I asked a Technology Education teacher in my building to look at an early draft of my infographic.  He gave me some tips about using the color of my text to help make the information pop off the page rather than risk having the text blend into the background image that I had chosen.  I also had my fellow classmate and building colleague, Laurie Brandl, review my work.  She helped me with tips on correcting problems I had using the color palette tool in Piktochart that caused me to have to re-do work repeatedly, to my frustration.  She also showed me how to remove pre-built icons that I did not want included in my final product.  Finally, my fellow classmate, Carl Pastor, indicated that I needed to include information on possible tools that others could use to create infographics, in order to present a more complete package about infographics.  This prompted me to investigate how I could increase the size of my infographic because I had already used up all the space that I thought was available.  With all of these suggestions, many iterations later, my final infographic is a work that I can be proud to present to the world as my work.  I even tweeted it out, and have already had it favorited and re-tweeted, even before I got to the final version of it!

1 Comment

  1. Laura says:

    Thoughtful reflection that shows the value of peer review and collaborative knowledge building.

    Like

Leave a Reply

